Non Poolable Covers

 

 

Overview

Members of the Club are insured for protection and indemnity
(P&I) risks in accordance with the standard terms of entry, set
out in the Rules. These reflect the terms of the International
Group’s Pooling Agreement, which, amongst other things,
makes provision for what claims may be pooled amongst the
Group Clubs, and what liabilities and expenses cannot be pooled
and are thus excluded from Group arrangements. The Pooling
Agreement encompasses risks that are common to the majority
of shipowners. Its scope of cover has evolved over the years,
and continues to evolve, to meet the changing and developing
needs of the industry.

Generally speaking, risks are excluded under the Pooling
Agreement if, for instance, they are considered not to be
sufficiently “mainstream” to warrant mutual cover (e.g. certain
offshore activities); or if they involve particularly onerous
contractual terms that a Member may be required to agree for
commercial reasons. These claims are thus excluded under the
normal terms of Club entry and under the rules of the Club.
Nevertheless they represent risks for which many Members
require cover.

The Club is able to provide such extended cover for a wide range
of non-poolable liabilities and costs, with limits available up to
US$1 billion. This includes cover for contractual indemnities,
risks relating to non-eligible persons, specialist operations,
offshore operations and non-poolable cargo liabilities. The
scope of coverage is flexible and can be individually tailored to
accomodate an individual Member’s requirements. The Club will
always assist Members in trying to provide solutions for new and
uncommon risks, as they arise.

Download a copy of the Clubs' Non Poolable Covers brochure

 

European Syndicate          

 

Rupert Harris -Head of Reinsurance and Underwriting

T +44 (0)20 7650 6644

M +44 (0)7979 240 916

Rupert.Harris@simsl.com 

   

Ben Dyer - Director of Underwriting

T +44 (0)20 7650 6476

M +44 (0)7812 143 697

Ben.Dyer@simsl.com 

           
 Americas Syndicate          
 

Gary Field - Head of Underwriting

T +44 (0)20 7650 6498

M +44 (0)7968 971 510

Gary.Field@simsl.com 

 

Sarah Chase - Syndicate Manager Underwriting

T +44 (0)20 7650 6603

M +44 (0)7780 667 348 

Sarah.Chase@simsl.com 

           
 Eastern Syndicate          
 

Jonathan Andrews - Head of Underwriting

T +44 (0)20 7650 6427

M +44 (0)7785 280 233

 Jonathan.Andrews@simsl.com 

 

JS Kim - Director Underwriting

T +44(0)20 7650 6496

M +44(0)7917 412 387

JS.Kim@simsl.com 

           
Singapore       Hong Kong  
 

Jerry Westmore - Chief Executive

T +65 6730 9333

M +65 9272 3407

Jerry.Westmore@simsl.com 

 

Eric Wu - Associate Director

T +852 282 19407

M +852 928 81748

Eric.Wu@simsl.com 

           
Tokyo          
 

 James Ingham - Director

T +81 (0)3 4510 2903

M +81(0)7040 376162

James.Ingham@simsl.com 

 

Ryuji Toki - Underwriting Executive

T +81 (0)7010 636 120

M +81 (0)3 4510 2902

Ryuji.Toki@simsl.com